Tuesday Summary

Today was the kind of day I can really have trouble with.

I came home from work and I really just didn’t want to run. I just didn’t. It’s hot as crap here, and humid, and I knew that if I tried to do an outdoors run I would turn into a sweat-cicle. And I had a 5 mile tempo run on the books (3 mi tempo, 1 mi warmup / cool down at either end), and that’s just gross. But I also just didn’t feel like running it on the treadmill… Somehow I knew that even though it was in the nice AC, I didn’t have the concentration in me to do a run that severe.

There’s also the fact that I have realized I jumped the gun a little with this training plan. I haven’t consistently run 10+ mile weeks since… Last year. I’ve run them, sure, but between injuries and the business trips I keep getting sent on, they haven’t been consistent. So I’m looking at the plan for today and thinking, it’s hot. It’s gross. I am too out of shape for this anyway. I can skip to meatballs and wine, right?

Well. Somehow, I found it in me to actually go for the run. And I’m surprised; Driving home from work exhausted, I fully expected to skip it. But there’s something about just making yourself do it. No, it isn’t fun. Yes, running should be fun. Yes, it sucks. But you have to stick to it. Eventually it will get better — you will get better. If you get better and you still hate it, then evaluate your sport choices. Until then, you just have to put in the hard work.

If I want to see any kind of changes, I have to stick it out through these bad days too.

I did compromise with myself, though, because I realized that going from 1-2 runs a week to 12 miles a week is a really bad idea. So I set these compromises:

  • no speed work yet. The new plan is: long slow run Fridays, easy run Sundays, and only-as-fast-as-I-can on Tuesdays, for the next few weeks.
  • Cut a mile or two off each run so that I don’t injure myself like an idiot.
  • Today I ran 4 miles: 0.5 warmup, 1 mi moderate, 1 mile moderate-fast, 1 mile moderate, 0.5 mi cool down. It kind of sucked. It’s hot as crap out here, and I am pretty sure I got blisters because my feet aren’t used to this pounding yet.

    I need to rework the running part of this training plan. I need more of a ramp into the actual training bit.

    But I ran! I’m completely happy with 4 slow-ish miles on a day I thought I was gonna quit.

    Determination.

    Leave a Reply

    