Week #01 Summary

Here’s my workout summary for Week #01:

  • Mon: rest
  • Tues: 4 miles easy/moderate/easy (outside)
  • Wed: BodyRock W2D4
  • Thurs: weights (upper body, abs)
  • Fri: 5.1 mi / 60 min easy/slow run (treadmill)
  • Sat: BodyRock W2D5
  • Sun: 2 mi easy run (treadmill) + weights (legs, abs)

Total Week #01 mileage:  11 mi

Days weightlifting: 2 days

And in terms of eating, because health isn’t all about working out:

  • Weekly calorie balance: 2700 calories under maintenance for the week, ~385/day below maintenance target
  • Macronutrients: 45/27/28 carb/fat/protein (goal: 45/20/35)

So, week 1 in review.

My calorie levels are looking good; I don’t want to go much lower than this or I won’t actually build/maintain the new fitness I am working so hard at.  I know that after this first month I’m going to need to increase, to keep up with my increased weekly mileage, so for right now I am okay with the deficit.I could probably go a little bit higher, if I could get the macros right.

I really need to get more protein into my diet — without accompanying fat.Or carbs. This is tricky. I had a couple meals out this week, and I was relatively good, but it’s really hard to get those macros into the 45/20/35 range. And hilariously I “should” be at more like 40/20/40! oh well.

Workout-wise, I feel good about it. I managed to get in two days of pretty heavy lifting, and I got my three runs in. And I only had one rest day; I did at least a BodyRock on the other days. This is probably my favorite thing about BodyRock – it keeps me doing something on days I’d be much more likely to take off.

For week #02:

This is going to be tricky, because I’m going on a business trip from Wed-Fri. I’ll be down in Louisiana and I don’t know what the schedule’s going to be like or how the hotel gym is. So, I’m trying to make a plan that will incorporate that.

  • Mon: BR
  • Tues: 5 mi easy/tempo/easy run
  • Wed: hotel gym weights, or BR in hotel room
  • Thurs: rest (don’t know schedule)
  • Fri: 70 min long slow run (in the evening when I return)
  • Sat: BR
  • Sun: 2 mi easy run + weights

I know eating will be a little off when I am traveling with work people, so my only real hope is just to stick to it on days I have control over it. And try to pack some snacks.

One thought on “Week #01 Summary

  1. Can I simply just say what a relief to find a person that really knows what they’re talking about on the net. You actually realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people must look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you are not more popular given that you definitely possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

