Monday Swim Workout: 2300m/50min

I’ve been getting swim workouts from www.swimplan.com – it’s a website that creates free detailed workouts based on your ability level and desired strokes/drills/etc. I’ve been doing the shorter ones (~1800m, 30-45 min) but yesterday I wanted a fuller cardio workout, so I did a longer one. The full workout was 2300m in 50 min. I did most of the 50-free on 1:00 (~45sec + 15sec rest), and my 100-frees were ~1:30-1:40 pace. I really am a much better swimmer than I am a runner.

Anyway, I’m posting the workout here just for my own records. 

I continue to be amazed at how good swimming feels: it’s a hard workout, definitely – I get out of the pool and my entire body has the shakes – but I’m not in pain, my lungs aren’t on fire, my ankle doesn’t hurt and my back feels no worse than when we got in the pool. It’s an incredible feeling. I may be over running for good.

 

Duration 45-60 mins
Distance 2300m
Pool length 25m
Issued Oct 22 2012

Warm up

8 x 50m Freestyle Swim (even pace), rest 0:15 / 50m
  Freestyle swim at a steady pace.

Build up

4 x 50m Backstroke Swim, rest 0:15 / 50m
4 x 50m Breaststroke Swim, rest 0:15 / 50m

Core

4 x 100m Freestyle Swim, rest 0:20 / 100m
8 x 50m Breaststroke Swim, rest 0:15 / 50m
8 x 50m Freestyle Bilateral Breathing, rest 0:15 / 50m
  Freestyle swim with breathing on alternate sides, typically every 3 strokes.

Warm down

1 x 100m Freestyle Push & Glide, rest 0:20 / 100m
  Freestyle swim, pausing at the end of every stroke with arms out-stretched, one held out front, the other held loosely against the body.
1 x 200m Freestyle Easy, rest 0:20 / 200m
  Freestyle swim at a slow, relaxed pace.
Leave a Reply

